The Composer-Pianists - Hamelin and The Eight

by Robert Rimm

In The Composer-Pianists: Hamelin and The Eight, Robert Rimm writes about eight legendary, enigmatic, and interrelated composer-pianists of the instrument's golden age and goes on to consider their present-day advocate and astounding interpreter Marc-André Hamelin, whose dynamic playing and engaging personality immediately impressed Rimm upon their first encounter. Rimm portrays The Eight (Alkan, Busoni, Feinberg, Godowsky, Medtner, Rachmaninov, Scriabin, and Sorabji) as the piano's aural sensualists and explores the relationships among their music, their music-making, their ideas, and their lives.

Publisher: Amadeus Press

Format: Softcover

Page Count: 344

Dimensions: 9.25 X 6.25 inches

ISBN: 9781574670721

Related Items